A workplace injury can appear as a far off, benign problem until it becomes a firsthand experience. Depending on the seriousness of the injury, such mishaps can result in months -- and even years -- away from a job. Most Texans do not stop to muse upon the issues that can unfold after an accident at work. How will monthly bills be paid? Will the next doctor visit give a timeframe in which work can begin again? What will the family do for basic necessities in this required healing time? All of these questions are common after an injury on the job.
A job does not have to bring initial risks for it to become the perfect setting for an accident. In a brochure on safety facts, the National Safety Council shows that professional business services, hospitality jobs and even retail work are among the most common industries to see fatal workplace accidents. Using data from 2013, the NSC also shares that, in total, work injury costs amounted to $206.1 billion. Per worker, the NSC estimated that $1,400 is necessary to cover the value of goods and services to balance the cost of work injuries. When it comes to the priciest claims, head injuries take first place, costing roughly $80,882 per claim.
Knowing the basics can certainly prove helpful in times of need, but what are state-specific regulations regarding workplace accidents? According to the Texas Department of Insurance, Texas employers typically must inform employees whether they have chosen to provide coverage for workers' compensation. The insurance coverage must align with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act in order to fully compensate employees for a portion of lost wages and medical bills. When matters are not quite black and white, the Division of Workers' Compensation can step in to regulate compensation benefits to injured workers or families of deceased workers, to help untangle insurance disputes and address other issues that can arise during this difficult time.